Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Joey
WeddingWire Admin May 2015 Maryland

Bills and chores - how do you split up household duties?

Joey, on February 16, 2019 at 14:05 Posted in Living together 0 12

Adulting takes a lot of work! In your house, how are tasks split? Is one person in charge of finances and bills? Do you have separate chores you each take care of? Is one person master of the household calendar? Or do you share everything between you?

Bills and chores - how do you split up household duties? 1

Photo by Judy Nguyen Photography in Toronto

12 Comments

Latest activity by Nelly+Raquel, on April 17, 2022 at 18:06
  • N
    Curious June 2023 Ontario
    Nelly+Raquel ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content
    Since I’m a teacher and I get home a lot earlier then she does I will be doing most of the household chores. We do a finical spreadsheet monthly and we work on it together
  • Stephanie
    Master July 2018 Alberta
    Stephanie ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content

We're in the process of joining our finances. Right now, we end up transferring money between us, depending on what's due when and who needs to buy what and when we both get paid.

I created a daily chore list (neither of us like cleaning!) so we do a small task every day. We try to split it, but I work fewer hours than my husband, so I end up doing most of them! It's not so bad though when it's a little bit every day. So today, for example, is the toilets; tomorrow is dusting.

His days off, he cooks supper. We almost always go grocery shopping together.

We tried making a combined calendar on Google, but neither of us updated it, so now, during our morning phone call, we go over any evening plans or anything happening during the week.

• Meghan
    Devoted April 2019 Ontario
    Meghan ·
    • Dispute
    • Hide content