Planning Basics

Canadian Wedding Dates You Should Avoid in 2018 and 2019

By Alice Prendergast, the 01/01/18
Alice Prendergast
Canadian Wedding Dates You Should Avoid in 2018 and 2019
Katlyn Jane Photography & Weddings

Can’t decide on your wedding date? Before you blindly pick a spot on the calendar, you should know what days to avoid.

Choosing your wedding date is tough stuff. You may have a season or month in mind, but you probably do not know the exact date that you want to say your "I two". To help you narrow it down, we've created a list of dates showing all the major Canadian holidays, religious observances and special events in 2018 and 2019, so you know exactly when you should not be aiming for. Why are these dates the ones to avoid? Many reasons - guests will probably already have plans, it will be hard to find accommodations, vendors will be busy and therefore unavailable or more expensive. Stay away from these days and planning should be just a little bit easier. Pro tip: if you do choose a long weekend, be sure to give your guests plenty of notice so they can plan accordingly.

Here are some wedding dates you should avoid in 2018 and 2019.

New Year's Day: Monday, January 1, 2018; Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Super Bowl Sunday: Sunday, February 4, 2018; Sunday, February 4, 2019

Valentine's Day: Wednesday, February 14, 2018; Thursday, February 14, 2019

Chinese New Year: Friday, February 16, 2018; Tuesday, February 5, 2019

 

Family Day (B.C.): Monday, February 13, 2018; Monday, February 12, 2019

Family Day (except B.C.): Monday, February 19, 2018; Monday, February 18, 2019

Academy Awards: Sunday, March 4, 2018; Sunday, February 24, 2019

Palm Sunday: Sunday, March 25, 2018; Sunday, April 14, 2019

Passover: Friday, March 30, 2018 - Saturday, April 7, 2018; Friday, April 19, 2019 - Saturday, April 27, 2019

Good Friday: Friday, March 30, 2018; Friday, April 19, 2019

Easter: Sunday, April 1, 2018; Sunday, April 21, 2019

Mother's Day: Sunday, May 13, 2018; Sunday, May 12, 2019

Victoria Day: Monday, May 21, 2018; Monday, May 20, 2019

Eid-al-Fitr: Friday, June 15, 2018; Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Father's Day: Sunday, June 17, 2018; Sunday, June 16, 2019

Canada Day : Sunday, July 1, 2018; Monday, July 1, 2019

August Long Weekend: Monday, August 6, 2018; Monday, August 5, 2019

Eid-al-Adha: Wednesday, August 22, 2018; Monday, August 12, 2019

Labor Day: Monday, September 3, 2018; Monday, September 2, 2019

Rosh Hashanah: Sunday, September 9, 2018 - Tuesday, September 11, 2018; Sunday, September 29, 2019 - Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Yom Kippur: Tuesday, September 18, 2018 - Wednesday, September 19, 2018; Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - Wednesday, October 9, 2019

Thanksgiving: Monday, October 8, 2018; Monday, October 14, 2019

Halloween: Wednesday, October 31, 2018; Thursday, October 31, 2019

Diwali: Monday, November 5, 2018; Sunday, October 27, 2019

Remembrance Day: Sunday, November 11, 2018; Monday, November 11, 2019

106th Gray Cup: Sunday, November 25, 2018; Sunday, November 24, 2019 (tentative)

Christmas: Tuesday, December 25, 2018; Wednesday, December 25, 2019

Kwanzaa: Wednesday, December 26, 2018 - Tuesday, January 1, 2019; Thursday, December 26, 2019 - Wednesday, January 1, 2020

New Year's Eve: Monday, December 31, 2018; Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Stay organized with WeddingWire's FREE wedding planning tools and mobile app »

This may interest you

More about Planning Basics

Article categories

To the top